Statements and articles »

Explanation of vote after the vote at the emergency special session of the GA delivered by Ms. Minna-Liina Lind, Deputy Permanent Representative of Estonia to the UN, 21 December 2017


Explanation of vote after the resolution "Status of Jerusalem" was adopted at the United Nations General Assembly on 21 December 2017
Mr President,
Let me deliver this explanation of vote after the vote on behalf of the following EU member states
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom,

as well as on behalf of Albania, Montenegro, Serbia and the FYROM.*

We reiterate our firm commitment to the two-state solution and, in this context, the position of our states on Jerusalem remains unchanged.

The aspirations of both parties must be fulfilled and a way must be found through negotiations to resolve the status of Jerusalem as the future capital of both states.

We will continue to respect the international consensus on Jerusalem embodied in, inter alia, UN Security Council Resolution 478, including on the location of their diplomatic representations until the final status of Jerusalem is resolved.

Recognizing the special significance of the holy sites of Jerusalem, we strongly believe that the status quo for the Temple Mount/al-Haram al-Sharif must be upheld in line with previous understandings and with respect to Jordan's special role.

Our countries will continue to work tirelessly with the parties, regional and international partners, not least within the Middle East Quartet, to promote a return to a meaningful process towards a negotiated two-state solution, in line with known parameters; towards a peace that can be sustained.

A negotiated two-state solution, which fulfils the aspirations of both sides, is the only realistic way to bring the lasting peace and security that both Israelis and Palestinians deserve.

* countries voting in favour of the resolution


© Permanent Representation to the UN 3 Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza, 305 East 47th Street, 6th Floor, New York, N.Y. 10017,
tel. (1 212) 883 06 40, e-mail: